Thursday, January 12, 2012

Senate Reorganization

Yesterday the Senate of Virginia organized itself and, as expected, there will be no power sharing arrangement between the Republicans and Democrats. The vote on the organization plan broke down 20-20 along party lines and Lt. Governor Bolling cast the tie breaking vote for the Republican-sponsored organizational plan. Many of the Senate committees have a super Republican majority. However, the Senate Committee on Education and Health has 8 Republicans and 7 Democrats. Time will tell whether the membership of the Education Committee will be favorable to the VSBA's positions on education bills.

The members of the Senate Education Committee are as follows:

Senator Martin-R (Chesterfield) Chairman
Senator Saslaw-D (Fairfax)
Senator Lucas-D (Portsmouth)
Senator Howell-D (Fairfax)
Senator Newman-R (Lynchburg)
Senator Blevins-R (Chesapeake)
Senator Locke-D (Hampton)
Senator Barker-D (Fairfax)
Senator Northam-D (Accomack)
Senator Miller-D (Newport News)
Senator Smith-R (Roanoke)
Senator McWaters-R (Virginia Beach)
Senator Black-R (Loudoun)
Senator Carrico-R (Galax)
Senator Garrett-R (Louisa)